nomaddf.blogg.se

Unity 3d tilemap
Unity 3d tilemap







  1. #UNITY 3D TILEMAP CODE#
  2. #UNITY 3D TILEMAP FREE#

I'm not making Subnautica or Minecraft, so I just don't need that level of detail. Ultimately I went with the dictionaries because it's much easier to serialize and reference them, and it's much faster to write a tool that way.

unity 3d tilemap

I could spend a month and make an incredibly optimized tool that's capable of doing things I will never need it to do, but I have to make game as well, I have to draw or create all the art assets this tool will use all over my game. There will always be a way to do something better or more efficiently, but it's a tool and it does everything I need it to. but I don't need to edit them at runtime, what I have is simple, works, is fast, and covers all my needs. I know, I've used marching cubes before, it's definitely great if you want to build off it.

#UNITY 3D TILEMAP CODE#

With marching squares your tiles live in data and can have code or properties associated with them, you can modify them at runtime and rebuild the chunk like minecraft does and bake that out if you wanted too. So for now it's easier to just use stuff like hills/bridges to divide them up for now and solve it with better level design, than one long flat piece of land. I also mention that I eventually do want to divide them into chunks if those meshes are too long, but that's also me being lazy with environment design. I can also manually do that in the editor, but then I lose the ability to edit them again, so I'll keep a release scene with the combined meshes, and a WIP scene. I show that it saves me over 60 FPS and 7.5k batches. Currently when I press play every layer of each Tilemap combines into a single mesh. I mention this in the video at about 5:53, there's section for optimization. If you use individual tiles your performance will degrade rapidly especially on consoles. You should batch your world into chunks and render each chunk mesh rather than individual tiles. Since it's a tool I care more about ease of use than performance (Can I click on a specific tile and see it in the inspector, etc), I like the individual tiles because they're curated prefabs, manually textured, have scripts on each object that allow the other features to work, and give me the ability to manually change a tile at a specific point. Does not require any dictionaries at all. Feedback Friday Screenshot Saturday Soundtrack Sunday Marketing Monday WIP Wednesday Daily Discussion Quarterly Showcase Related communities 1ĭid you ever consider using marching squares algorithm? It usally requires less tile objects, handles saddle cases elegantly and is cheaper too process. For questions, get in touch with mods, we're happy to help you.

#UNITY 3D TILEMAP FREE#

Free assets OK, be sure to specify license. If you need to use screenshots, that's ok so long as is illustrates your issues.ĭo not solicit employment.

unity 3d tilemap

Use discord, /r/indiegames, /r/playmygame or /r/gamedevscreens.īe specific about your question. Feedback, praise, WIP, screenshots, kickstarters, blogs, memes, "play my game", twitch streams.









Unity 3d tilemap